Backpressure with curio socket as stream

Caveat, I am new to async programming in python and this is my first attempt at it.

I am using curio as a potential solution to producer / consumer application I am writing. I have an http server that will stream data at extremely high rates to the client. I set up an async generator to yield parts of the stream. This generator is iterated on in the producer, which adds the yielded values to a curio Queue. The consumer then pops items from that queue and processes them further. The processing methods that this consumer is calling are basically synchronous code right now, even though I am using async def and awat in the calls. They are not really blocking functions, they are a few if statements with simple math that modifies state on an instance.

However during periods of time where the socket is pushing a lot of data out, things tend to get backed up (not unexpectedly). Where is this backup occuring, and would it be alleviated if I changed the approach in the consumer and instead of directly awaiting the methods, I spawned them as tasks? I am thinking this may improve things as it would allow the context to switch back to the async generator in the producer and make more progress on teh socket data before switching back to processing. Is this a valid approach or should I try something else to deal with the “backpressure” in the system?

Here is my generator function:

async def stream(self, symbols):
        sock = await curio.open_connection(, self.port)
        req = f'GET /stream?symbol={self._format_symbols(symbols)} '
        req += 'HTTP/1.1\r\nHost: localhost:5000\r\n\r\n'
        async with sock:
            await sock.sendall(req.encode())
            stream = sock.as_stream()
            for i in range(3):
                await stream.readline()
            while True:
                yield (await stream.readline()).strip(),

Here is my producer / consumer:

async def start(self):