Python Projects Week

On June 18-22, 2018 I’ll be running my first ever “Python Projects Week” course (http://www.dabeaz.com/pythonprojects.html). This is a new course so I thought I’d say a few things about it.

For the past few years, I’ve been thinking about the idea of a more “Project Focused” Python course that could complement the material I teach in my more traditional “Practical Python” and “Advanced Python Mastery” courses. My Compilers course is certainly project based, but it’s also narrowly focused on a specific topic and involves a rather large project. I was thinking about something that could be a little more general that would feature a series of smaller, more self-contained projects–each project being something that could probably be completed in a single day. The projects also had to be targeted at more intermediate level programmers. These are not for total beginners nor are they freakishly advanced. However, they’re challenging in a way that allows you learn various elements of advanced Python programming as well as some interesting software architecture.

The real challenge is in coming up with suitable projects. I don’t really want to do projects that are too heavily focused on installing packages and looking up API functions on Google. There should be much more about coding practice, design, tradeoffs, and computational thinking. The projects should spark a lot of discussion and allow for exploration of different facets of Python. I’d also like to do some things that involve other interesting aspects of computing so that each project becomes so much more than simply learning a narrow bit of Python code.

With about two-and-half weeks to go, I’m pretty excited about how the course has been shaping up. Right now, it’s built around four core projects.